Anecdote IV- Hunger

The story you are about to read is just a ‘usual’ one. I didn’t see an angel. I didn’t win a lottery. I didn’t survive an accident where everyone else died. However, I’ve realized that in the most ordinary of events, we learn great lessons far above what we can imagine. It reminds me of Cobham’s World of Ordinary people.
Monday, a while ago, I was hungry. It was noon and I had forgotten to take my meal ticket. I desired to have lunch in the cafeteria. The distance from my hall to the cafeteria was gruesome so I decided to stay back and look for one in a hall nearby. I went to a friend’s room hoping that I would find him to get his but he wasn’t around although his roommates were. So I decided to go visit as many of my friends as possible hoping. Boy was I hungry!!!
After walking what seemed to be kilometers, I went back to the same room where I started from- without a ticket. I had almost given up hope ready to go back to my hall and look for an alternative. Then one of his roommates asked, “Do you want a ticket?” I’ve got two! Those words struck my innermost being, not because I was now going to satisfy my hunger but because the solution to my problem was right under my nose and I just ignored it.
As ordinary as this story may sound, a lot of us are guilty of this. We go around complaining, groaning about problems, searching the earth for the solution when it is right under our nose.

When next you encounter a problem, no matter its intensity or the pressure it puts on you look under your nose and I don’t mean literally!. The solution might just be there…

Posted with WordPress for BlackBerry.

What do you think?

