Shedding Off

A great man once assigned me the responsibility of wetting the flowers in the compound everyday.

This man loved plants to a fault and so he was on my case every evening. “Did you wet the plants today ?”. Yes was my usual reply. The next inevitable question was “hope you put a lot of water on the banana, pawpaw and ahhfkkde?” (I can’t remember the name of the other plant) but my answer was most times in the affirmative.

As a result of the evening ‘sessions’, I spent no less than 30 minutes with the plants everyday. I noticed that virtually all of the plants shed leaves as they grew. Apparently, some leaves could no longer cope and had to fall off. When they fell off, resources were transferred to others to make the plant grow. It reminds me of the scripture that says “Every branch that does not bear fruit will be cut off.

I noticed a semblance between human nature and growth of plants. We cannot grow if we’re not willing to drop some habits, thoughts, connections, ideologies etc. If you do not let go, you will remain where you’ve always been. That is how this life was engineered; You have to lose some to gain some.

You can start shedding those excesses. It’s never too late.

What do you think?

