Self Worth

A while ago, I was privileged to use one of the top notch phones. I seriously needed something to give me a sense of worth and the phone did just that. To get it, I had to make several calls and persistently ask. Eventually when I did, I felt on top of the world.

I would toy with it and just keep admiring it. I was on top of the world; no doubt. Few months later, the story changed; a better brand of phone was released and other people got it. My self esteem received a huge dent. Others began using a better and more sophisticated phone and I felt average; I felt under the world.

And then it dawned on me, Why attach my self esteem to a phone; a phone that has no long lasting value? The best phones today would be manageable phones in the feature. I couldn’t continue like that.

I began a quest to look for something to attach my self-worth to; something with a stronger foundation, something unmovable, something more reliable.

I considered money but then I didn’t have a lot of money at the time (lol) and I would have felt less important than someone who has acquired more.

I considered my physical features but then I realized that 30-40 years down the line, time would take its toll on me and the great looks I possess would fade away at least a little.

I considered my intellect and almost stuck to it until I realized that my self-esteem would also diminish if or when I engage someone who displays a greater intellect than I.

I thought and thought until it struck me; what about the love of Jesus? What about the love of God. Then I remembered John 3:16 “For God so loved the world (ME), that He gave His only begotten son that whosoever believes in Him shall not perish but have everlasting life”. THAT WAS IT! That was all I needed to hear to give me a permanent boost.

My knowledge of God giving me His best reminds me daily that I am extremely valuable. I mean no one gives diamonds to a swine. And so if he did that for me, then I’m inestimable, important, precious, prized. And now, on a scale of 1-100 my self esteem level is 1 googol (1 followed by 100 zeros).

I have no reason to remain depressed. I have no reason to remain downcast. Yes I may be pressed on every side sometimes but I’m not staying down because He did all that for me.

What do you think?

