Traveling again

After having this conversation with a friend, we decided to visit a new city. It had been years we last met and knowing that the perfect time was only a myth, we decided to go anyways. For me, I kinda needed it to unwind after the difficult previous weeks.

I left late because perfection takes time 🙂 It was my first time taking this trip, so I relied on the map for directions. A few hours into the journey, I came across this car that was driving up ahead. Unlike other cars this car’s route aligned with mine. After about an hour of driving tow to tow, I was certain we were heading in the same direction. I stopped looking at my map because it was frankly inconvenient. This car was just easier to follow.

After a while, the car took a right turn and I followed. Until it took yet another turn into a gas station and then it dawned on me. “What am I doing?” I thought. My gas was full and there was absolutely no need to get a refill or snacks. I opened my map again, had to re-route my trip and lost about 10 minutes.

Remember I started the journey late right? Well, the Sun bade me farewell and then all I could see was the few feet of light thanks to my headlamp. I had 2 concerns as anyone would; driving late at night into this new city and moving fast just in case.

Lights!

A few moments later, I saw some lights from within my vanity mirror, it was blue and it flashed. God Abeg!! This can’t be happening. Slowly, but surely all the cars behind me gave way and it was clear that I was made. Heart beating, pulse rising. This couldn’t be happening. I made my way to park at the right side waiting for the inevitable. The lights got brighter and brighter until the perfect day but it didn’t stop behind me. It went past me. Whew, the relief that flooded my belly. Not today!

So it’s dark, I’m trying to save some time and then I move close to a convoy of cars who again seemed to be going my direction. You would think I learned something from my earlier 10-minute detour but nope, not me. I saw a ramp that resembled my destination and it didn’t help that all the cars ahead of me climbed it. As soon as I got on the ramp, the map started convulsing – I had missed my way again. This detour took at least 20 minutes of driving off-road in pitch darkness – the pressure was getting incredible!

I realized as I thought about these events how easily we may be influenced by the choices made by others.. You may have heard the saying that 20 children cannot play together for 20 years and I couldn’t agree more. It is a futile exercise to follow someone without often checking your map because nobody is traveling to your destination with the same set of skills in the same proportion. In reality we’re on a lone journey with ourselves

What is your Map? Your map is a combination of;

  1. Who you Are
  2. What your Skills are
  3. What your Goals are

We frequently fail to recognize our individuality despite the fact that our various skills and talents ought to be a clear indicator. And when there is a difference in results, we compare them to others- another grave mistake.

Permit me to use one more analogy because this piece is about driving. Blindly following others is the same as buying gas when your brake pads need to be replaced urgently or replacing the wrong tire when you have a flat tire.

STICK TO YOUR MAP!

What do you think?